Latest from Lighting

Illustration 60886103 Kheng / Ho To / DreamsTime
Le Ducation Award 1025

National Lighting Bureau Announce Award Winners at LEDucation

March 18, 2022
Randy Reid, NLB's executive director, (left) presents a NLB Citation Award to WAC Lighting's Daniel Moklas for the company's Strut System.

The National Lighting Bureau (NLB) presented the 2nd annual Art & Science of Lighting Awards at LEDucation on March 16.  Mary Beth Gotti, chair of the NLB,  and Randy Reid executive director, presented the awards. The purpose of the awards program is to give recognition to outstanding products that advance the following categories.

The Science of Lighting Award. A lighting product that demonstrates exceptional technical innovation that significantly improves how effectively and efficiently high-quality lighting can be specified and installed, or introduces new applications to high-quality lighting opportunities.

The Art of Lighting Award. A lighting product that provides outstanding aesthetic appeal and high-quality lighting, based on the innovative use of lighting technology, materials, or sculptural forms.

The Art and Science of Lighting Award. A lighting product introduced that meets the criteria for both the Art and Science of Lighting categories.

The NLB received many submissions, but the jurors narrowed it down to 1 winner for each category, along with 7 Special Citations and 4 Honorable Mentions. The winners, by category, are:

Art of Lighting

OCL Architectural Lighting Petals

Science of Lighting

Seoul Semiconductor Sunlike

Art & Science of Lighting

Fluxwerx Portal

Below is the list on Special Citations and Honorable Mentions:

Special Citation

  • Leotek Comfort View
  • Hess America Bishop Bollard
  • lumenpulse™ Lumenblade
  • Artemide® Alphabet of Light
  • Edison Price Lighting Infinity
  • WAC Lighting Strut System
  • PureEdge Lighting TruTrack

Honorable Mention

  • Coelux® HT25
  • Impact Architectural Lighting tiki.aura™
  • RAB Lighting L34
  • Vode Lighting Zip Three Pendant with dynamic white

NLB’s juror panel consisted of some of the most knowledgeable and experienced professionals in the lighting industry. The jurors were: Jim Benya, Jean Paul Freyssinier, Terry McGowan, Jim Yorgey, Cary Mendelsohn and Howard Lewis.