NEMA Announces Kite & Key Winners

National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) (Rosslyn, Va.): NEMA  honored three Kite & Key award winners during its annual meeting, Illuminations Weekend in San Diego. This year’s winners are Kevin Coderre, technical director at RSCC Wire & Cable; Pekka Hakkarainen, PhD, vice president of Lutron Electronics Co.; and Mike Leibowitz, program manager at NEMA. Coderre became involved with the NEMA High Performance Wire and Cable Section in 1990, developing next generation aerospace wires. He first served as a chair of the 7HW Shipboard Technical Committee beginning in the mid-1990s until 2000, and then again from 2001 until 2011. This committee, which he now vice-chairs, upgraded Navy cable specifications with state-of-the-art electronic cables. He also has chaired the High Performance Wire and Cable Aerospace Technical Committee since 2004.

Dr. Hakkarainen has been involved in NEMA activities since the mid-1990s. His first chair position at NEMA was with the Lighting Controls Council from 2002 to2004. During his tenure as chair, the council became the Lighting Controls Section inlate 2004. Dr. Hakkarainen is the immediate past chair of the Lighting Systems Division, and currently chairs the High Performance Buildings Council and the Daylight Management Council. He has also served on the board of the Global Lighting Association, of which NEMA is a member. Leibowitz is the first NEMA staff person to be honored with a Kite & Key award. Since becoming a program manager for the trade association in 1991, he has led the building wire and cable, conduit fittings, flexible cord, magnet wire, and outlet box industries in meeting their technical and product standardization objectives.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.