Latest from Rep News

Photo 226496518 / Mohd Izzuan Ros / Dreamstime
Photo_226496518 Mohd Izzuan Ros / Dreamstime


2010 GEM Award for Independent Reps

March 1, 2010
The 2010 GEM Award winner is Mike Gorin of Gorin-Hopper-McCoy, Atlanta

The Ganzenmuller Electrical Marketing Award, or GEM Award, was established in honor of George Ganzenmuller, who was chief editor of Electrical Wholesaling magazine for more than 30 years until his death in 1986. George was a man whose integrity, fairness and industry knowledge won the respect of the entire electrical industry for nearly four decades. Since 1989, Electrical Wholesaling magazine has awarded the GEM Award to honor those independent manufacturers' reps who exhibit these same leadership qualities. A companion award, the GEM Rising Star Award, recognizes those independent reps whose early careers and industry contributions show promise of leadership.

The editors of Electrical Wholesaling believe the electrical industry can learn from the business careers and personal philosophies of this year's winners of the GEM Award and GEM Rising Star Award.

Mike Gorin, Gorin-Hopper-McCoy, Atlanta

Mike Cuddy, Renaissance Electrical Marketing, Pittsburgh

Past Gem Award Winners

1989: Allen Rudolph, Rudolph & Co., Boston; Walter Yusen, Yusen Associates, Woburn, Mass. 1990: Lawrence Rodger Jr., Jacobson-Rodger Associates, Willow Grove, Pa. 1991: John Maddox, Maddox Sales Co., Pico Rivera, Calif. 1992: Byron Brewer Sr., Harby Associates Inc., Wallingford, Conn. 1993: Gary Brusacoram, Andrews Johnson Brusacoram, Minneapolis 1994: Jim Edwards, Jim Edwards Co., Houston 1995: Jerry Haines, Haines Sales Corp., East Syracuse, N.Y. 1996: Gene Biben, Joseph E. Biben Sales Co., Philadelphia 1997: John Marietti, Cleaves-Bessmer-Marietti, Kansas City, Mo. 1998: Peter Ewing, Ewing-Foley, Cupertino, Calif. 1999: Ron Haedt, Electrorep, Sausalito, Calif. 2000: Jack Floyd, Downie, Turner & Buress, Columbia, Md. 2001: Joe Yore, Electrical Marketing Services, Altamonte Springs, Fla. 2002: Doug Carlson, Jim Stanker and Kevin O'Neill, C&O Electrical Sales, Overland Park, Kan. 2003: Dennis McDonald, McDonald Associates, Arlington Heights, Ill. 2004: Robert Benton, RB Sales Corp., Marion, Iowa 2005: Kurt and Todd Nelson, Nelson Associates, Santa Fe Springs, Calif. 2006: Charles Todaro, General Power and Control Corp., Jefferson, La. 2007: Art Andrews and Rick Johnson, Andrews Johnson Brusacoram, Minneapolis 2008: Tony Meglio, Meglio & Associates, Hazelwood, Mo. 2009: Gary Lessing, Ewing & Foley, Cupertino, Calif.

Past Gem Rising Star Winners

1989: John Roth Mooney Jr., Roth-Mooney Electrical Agency Inc., Indianapolis 1990: Nancy Martin, Martin Electrical Sales, Kirkwood, Mo. 1991: Michael Criste, Criste & Co., Scott Depot, W.Va. 1992: Barr Kennedy, Paul Lumpkin Co., Charlotte, N.C. 1993: Jeff Cleveland, C&S Sales, Orlando, Fla. 1994: David Weinstein, Yusen Associates Inc., Woburn, Mass. 1995: Jim Amey, Robert A. Amey Co., Portland, Ore. 1996: Todd and Kurt Nelson, Nelson & Associates, Sante Fe Springs, Calif. 1997: John Greenwald, Intelligent Control Devices, Denver 1998: Howard Pickett, George Pickett & Associates Inc., Cary, N.C. 1999: Joe Bertsch Jr., Joe Bertsch Electrical Sales Co., Cedar Rapids, Iowa 2000: Samuel Johnson, Electra-Tek Carolinas, Greensboro, N.C. 2001: Steve Gallagher, Synergy Electrical Sales Inc., Fairless Hills, Pa. 2002: Greg Reynolds, Flynn-Reynolds Agency Inc., Lowell, Mass. 2003: Tom Fisher, Fishco & Associates, St. Louis 2004: Richard Whitecraft, Keyline Sales, Albuquerque, N.M. 2005: Jamey Yore, Electrical Marketing Services, Altamonte Springs, Fla. 2006: Barry Oliver, Electrolink Sales, Albuquerque, N.M. 2007: Bill Devereaux, RB Sales, Marion, Iowa 2008: Rick Kostewa, Apex Electrical Sales, Phoenix 2009: Kevin Venezia, Damin Sales, Edison, N.J.

Sponsored Recommendations