Latest from Rep News

Illustration 60886103 / Kheng Ho To / Dreamstime
Illustration 60886103 / Kheng Ho To / Dreamstime


GEM Award Winners Through the Years

Feb. 11, 2014

The Ganzenmuller Electrical Marketing Award, or GEM Award, was established in honor of George Ganzenmuller, who was chief editor of Electrical Wholesaling magazine for more than 30 years. George was a man whose integrity, fairness and industry knowledge won the respect of the entire electrical industry for nearly four decades, and he championed the role of the rep in EW’s editorial pages for more than three decades. Since 1989, Electrical Wholesaling magazine has awarded the GEM Award to honor those independent manufacturers' reps who exhibit these same leadership qualities. A companion award, the GEM Rising Star Award, recognizes those independent reps whose early careers and industry contributions show promise of leadership.

Electrical Wholesaling presents the GEM Awards to deserving reps each year at the annual conference of the National Electrical Manufacturers Representatives Assocation, Portsmouth, N.H. Do you have a a rep in mind that you would like to nominate for a GEM Award? Contact Jim Lucy, EW Chief Editor at 913-967-1743 / [email protected]


1989: Allen Rudolph, Rudolph & Co., Boston; Walter Yusen, Yusen Associates, Woburn, Mass.

1990: Lawrence Rodger Jr., Jacobson-Rodger Associates, Willow Grove, Pa.

1991: John Maddox, Maddox Sales Co., Pico Rivera, Calif.

1992: Byron Brewer Sr., Harby Associates Inc., Wallingford, Conn.

1993: Gary Brusacoram, Andrews Johnson Brusacoram, Minneapolis

1994: Jim Edwards, Jim Edwards Co., Houston

1995: Jerry Haines, Haines Sales Corp., East Syracuse, N.Y.

1996: Gene Biben, Joseph E. Biben Sales Co., Philadelphia

1997: John Marietti, Cleaves-Bessmer-Marietti, Kansas City, Mo.

1998: Peter Ewing, Ewing-Foley, Cupertino, Calif.

1999: Ron Haedt, Electrorep, Sausalito, Calif.

2000: Jack Floyd, Downie, Turner & Buress, Columbia, Md.

2001: Joe Yore, Electrical Marketing Services, Altamonte Springs, Fla.

2002: Doug Carlson, Jim Stanker and Kevin O'Neill, C&O Electrical Sales, Overland Park, Kan.

2003: Dennis McDonald, McDonald Associates, Arlington Heights, Ill.

2004: Robert Benton, RB Sales Corp., Marion, Iowa

2005: Kurt and Todd Nelson, Nelson Associates, Santa Fe Springs, Calif.

2006: Charles Todaro, General Power and Control Corp., Jefferson, La.

2007: Art Andrews and Rick Johnson, Andrews Johnson Brusacoram, Minneapolis

2008: Tony Meglio, Meglio & Associates, Hazelwood, Mo.

2009: Gary Lessing, Ewing & Foley, Cupertino, Calif.

2010: Mike Gorin, Gorin-Hopper-McCoy, Atlanta

2011: Nancy Martin, Martin Electrical Sales, Kirkwood, Mo.

2012: Charles Cohon, Prime Electrical Devices Corp., Glenview, Ill.

2013: Murray Chamney, Intralec Electrical Products, Mississauga Ontario

2014: Kevin Adams, Shaffer-Nelson, Lake Oswego, Ore.


1989: John Roth Mooney Jr., Roth-Mooney Electrical Agency Inc., Indianapolis

1990: Nancy Martin, Martin Electrical Sales, Kirkwood, Mo.

1991: Michael Criste, Criste & Co., Scott Depot, W.Va.

1992: Barr Kennedy, Paul Lumpkin Co., Charlotte, N.C.

1993: Jeff Cleveland, C&S Sales, Orlando, Fla.

1994: David Weinstein, Yusen Associates Inc., Woburn, Mass.

1995: Jim Amey, Robert A. Amey Co., Portland, Ore.

1996: Todd and Kurt Nelson, Nelson & Associates, Sante Fe Springs, Calif.

1997: John Greenwald, Intelligent Control Devices, Denver

1998: Howard Pickett, George Pickett & Associates Inc., Cary, N.C.

1999: Joe Bertsch Jr., Joe Bertsch Electrical Sales Co., Cedar Rapids, Iowa

2000: Samuel Johnson, Electra-Tek Carolinas, Greensboro, N.C.

2001: Steve Gallagher, Synergy Electrical Sales Inc., Fairless Hills, Pa.

2002: Greg Reynolds, Flynn-Reynolds Agency Inc., Lowell, Mass.

2003: Tom Fisher, Fishco & Associates, St. Louis

2004: Richard Whitecraft, Keyline Sales, Albuquerque, N.M.

2005: Jamey Yore, Electrical Marketing Services, Altamonte Springs, Fla.

2006: Barry Oliver, Electrolink Sales, Albuquerque, N.M.

2007: Bill Devereaux, RB Sales, Marion, Iowa

2008: Rick Kostewa, Apex Electrical Sales, Phoenix

2009: Kevin Venezia, Damin Sales, Edison, N.J.

2010: Mike Cuddy, Renaissance Electrical Marketing, Pittsburgh

2011: Kelly Boyd, ElectroRep, Sausalito, Calif.

2012: Kristina Steiger, Schaeffer Marketing Group, St. Louis

2013: John Scott, Lester Sales Co. Indianapolis, Ind.

2014: Jeff Starkman, ElectroTech, Minneapolis

Sponsored Recommendations